Do You Know These Types and Benefits of Yoga?

Yoga is a kind of mind-body medicine that strengthens physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of a person’s well-being, particularly stress-related problems. The roots of this ancient discipline may be traced back to the Rig Veda, an ancient book collection. Yoga derives its name from the Sanskrit word “Yuj,” meaning “unity” or “to join.” Yoga was introduced in India 5000 years ago and is becoming increasingly popular in the West.

Living Life

Common Types Of Yoga

Hatha Yoga

The chakras and energy centres are harmonised with this yoga method. Chakras are supposed to impact emotional reactions, needs or aversions, confidence or fear, and even an individual’s physiological state. They may be found in seven different areas of the body and are associated with certain organs and glands:

  • Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): found at the crown of the head signifies spiritual connection.
  • Third EyeChakra (Ajna): related to intuition, located between the eyebrows,
  • Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Located near the throat, it corresponds to verbal communication and immunity
  • Heart Chakra (Anahata): It resides in the centre of the chest, significant for internal and external well-being.
  • Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Situated near the stomach area,it corresponds to self-confidence and wisdom.
  • Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana): Located near the belly button, it signifies pleasureand vitality.
  • Root chakra (Muladhara): It is found at the base of the spine and connects the mind and body, and controls the sciatic nerves and the parasympathetic nervous system.

Ashtanga Yoga

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali are the foundation of Ashtanga yoga. Eight is the Sanskrit word for “ashtanga,” a popular weight-loss yoga technique.In yoga, the eight “limbs” are frequently shown as a tree: Yoga includes asana (physical postures), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (sensual control), and Dharana (concentration), Dyana (meditation), and samadhi (spiritual focus). Kapalbhati, Anulomvilom, Surya bhedi, Padmasana are most common types of Ashtanga Yoga.

Vinyasa Yoga

Vinyasa yoga induces a natural flow of postures and breathing patterns reflecting life’s flow. Vinyasa yogis, for example, utilise the child’s position to begin the flow and the death pose to conclude it (the savasana). Meditation is used in advanced vinyasa yoga practices, making the practice more mindful. Plank pose, Cobra Pose and Downward facing dog pose are good to go for beginners who want to practice Vinyasa Yoga


Yoga is an ancient yet effective health practice. Yoga aids in the harmonic balance of the body and mind. Practising yoga regularly may help you strengthen your body and improve your posture. It relaxes your body and mind, enabling you to maintain focus and enjoy your life to its fullest.